European Press Prize calls for the best journalistic stories

Journalists from all 46 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe and Belarus and Russia are eligible to submit their work of the highest quality to the contest.

The work submitted must:

  • be in any language but be accompanied by a synopsis in English
  • have been published between December 1, 2021 and December 31, 2022.

There are four categories of prizes awarded worth 10,000 euros each, plus a special prize to a striking entry which defies categories and disciplines. This year, for the first time, a fifth category is introduced: the Migration Journalism Award. The categories are the following:

1. The Investigative Reporting Award

2. The Distinguished Reporting Award

3. The Public Discourse Award

4. The Innovation Award

5. The Migration Journalism Award

The Special Award

The winners will be announced at the yearly European Press Prize Award Ceremony.

Apply here

New Deadline: 14 December 2022

Everything you need to know

iMEdD is a funding member in the European Press Prize, an institution formed in 2012 by representatives of seven independent esteemed media-owning foundations in Europe.