European Press Prize 2023 Shortlist announced

The European Press Prize has unveiled its 2023 Shortlist, featuring outstanding journalism from across Europe.

The Shortlist comprises 25 articles and projects selected from hundreds of submissions in over 35 languages, spanning categories such as:

  • Distinguished Reporting
  • Investigative Reporting
  • Innovation
  • Public Discourse and
  • the newly introduced Migration Journalism Award

Noteworthy topics covered by the finalists include migration, homophobia, and teenage terrorist networks.

Additionally, the Special Award has been transformed into a dedicated category called Special Award: Ukraine Reporting.

The Panel of Judges, responsible for selecting the winners in each category, includes prominent figures such as Alan Rusbridger, former editor-in-chief of The Guardian, and Can Dündar, a Turkish journalist and documentarian.

The Preparatory Committee, in charge of selecting the Shortlist, is chaired by Cristian Lupșa and includes several journalists and media professionals from across Europe.

About the European Press Prize

The European Press Prize aims to recognize excellence in European journalism and promote transparent, independent reporting on critical issues, and it is supported by various foundations that aim to promote quality journalism in Europe.

The European Press Prize is awarded on a yearly basis in 5 categories: Distinguished Reporting, Innovation, Public Discourse, Investigative Reporting, and Migration Journalism. The Panel of Judges also awards a Special Award to journalism that defies categories and disciplines. Each award is worth €10,000.

iMEdD is a funding member in the European Press Prize.